EN | DE | FR  ICHC2007

Konrad Türst: De situ confoederatorum descriptio [1495/97] ICHC2007 22nd International Conference on the History of Cartography, Berne, July 8-13, 2007 22. Internationale Konferenz zur Geschichte der Kartographie, Bern, 8.-13. Juli 2007 22e Congrès International de l'Histoire de la Cartographie, Berne, 8-13 juillet 2007 Logo ICHC2007

1   Introduction 
  
2   Contact Information  
  
3   Academic Programme 
  
4   Presentations 
  
5   Registration 
  
6   Meals and Special Events 
  
7   Accompanying Persons 
  
8   General Tourist Information 
  
9   Schedule and Conference Programme 
  
City Map 
  
Organizing Committee 
  
Participating Institutions 
  
PDF Call for Papers
 
Printable version of this page
 
This page will no longer be updated
 
 
6.1  Lunch and Snacks
 
6.2  Welcome reception
 
6.3  Exhibitions
 
6.4  Professional Visits
 
6.5  Farewell Dinner
 
6.6  Post-Conference Tours
 
6.6.1  Day trip to Basel, Saturday, July 14
 
6.6.2  Three-day Post-Conference Tour, Sunday, July 15 to Tuesday, July 17
 
Coach trip from Berne to Interlaken/Unterseen, Lucerne, Näfels, Saint-Gall, Zurich, returning to Berne.
 
Sunday, July 15
 
The first part of our trip takes us to the Bernese mountains, to Interlaken/Unterseen, where we will visit the Touristikmuseum der Jungfrauregion. In the afternoon, we will cross the Brünig pass on our way to Lucerne. In Lucerne we will visit the Glacier Garden, which contains the historic relief model of central Switzerland, constructed by Franz Ludwig Pfyffer von Wyher in the years 1747 to 1786. There is time for an optional walk through the city of Lucerne. The Vitznau-Rigi Railway, the first mountain train in Europe (it started operations in 1871), will take us to the top of Mt. Rigi (1800 m above sea level) where we will spend the night at a hotel.
 
Monday, July 16
 
The second day starts (weather permitting) with a marvellous sunrise. After the downhill train ride and an impressive coach drive over an Alpine pass - the Klausen Pass - we will reach Näfels in the canton of Glarus. In the Freulerpalast, we will see the cartographic holdings of the Landesbibliothek Glarus and we can look at maps of the important 19th century Linth river control project. Later on we will drive to the Säntis region. After a dinner with folkloric highlights, we will lodge in the hillsides of Appenzell.
 
Tuesday, July 17
 
We will start the third day with a visit to the former Benedictine monastery of Saint-Gall (a UNESCO world heritage site) with its precious baroque library (Stiftsbibliothek) and its cartographic treasures, such as the plan of the monastery, drawn around 820 and the special exhibition "Karten und Atlanten" (responsible: Ernst Tremp, Karl Schmuki, Theres Flury). Then a drive by coach to Zurich where we will visit the map library of the Zentralbibliothek and enjoy a presentation at the ETH-Bibliothek with the title "Crossing the Alps mirrored in maps and plans".
 
It is possible to leave the group in Zurich after 5:00 pm (the Zurich Airport can be reached with a short train ride). The coach will return to Berne.
  • Departure Berne: Sunday, July 15, 8:00 am
  • Arrival Berne: Tuesday, July 17, 6:00 pm
Price: CHF 640.- (Single room extra charge: CHF 40.-)
 
Included:
  • Coach trip (circuit starting and ending in Berne)
  • Two hotel nights (with breakfast)
  • Three lunches, two dinners
  • Entrance fees
  • Guided museum tours
  • Tour guide
Not included:
  • Transfer to Zurich Airport
Since the number of participants is limited, please reserve early.
 

© Impressum 2008-12-28

EN | DE | FR  ICHC2007

Konrad Türst: De situ confoederatorum descriptio [1495/97] ICHC2007 22nd International Conference on the History of Cartography, Berne, July 8-13, 2007 22. Internationale Konferenz zur Geschichte der Kartographie, Bern, 8.-13. Juli 2007 22e Congrès International de l'Histoire de la Cartographie, Berne, 8-13 juillet 2007 Logo ICHC2007

1   Introduction 
  
2   Contact Information  
  
3   Academic Programme 
  
4   Presentations 
  
5   Registration 
  
6   Meals and Special Events 
  
7   Accompanying Persons 
  
8   General Tourist Information 
  
9   Schedule and Conference Programme 
  
City Map 
  
Organizing Committee 
  
Participating Institutions 
  
PDF Call for Papers
 
Printable version of this page
 
This page will no longer be updated
 
 
6.1  Mittagessen und Pausenverpflegung
 
6.2  Eröffnungsapéro
 
6.3  Ausstellungen
 
6.4  Fachbesichtigungen
 
6.5  Abschiedsabendessen
 
6.6  Post Conference Tours
 
6.6.1  Eintägige Tour nach Basel, Samstag, 14. Juli
 
6.6.2  Dreitägige Post Conference Tour, Sonntag, 15. Juli bis Dienstag, 17. Juli
 
Busreise von Bern nach Interlaken/Unterseen, Luzern, Näfels, St. Gallen, Zürich und zurück nach Bern.
 
Sonntag, 15. Juli
 
Der erste Teil unserer Reise führt uns ins Berner Oberland, nach Interlaken/Unterseen und ins Touristikmuseum der Jungfrauregion. Über den Brünigpass erreichen wir am Nachmittag Luzern und besichtigen im Gletschergarten das Relief der Urschweiz von Franz Ludwig Pfyffer von Wyher (erstellt 1747 bis 1786). Anschliessend besteht die Möglichkeit zu einem kleinen Stadtrundgang in Luzern. Mit der Vitznau-Rigi-Bahn, 1871 als erste Bergbahn Europas eröffnet, fahren wir auf die Rigi (1800 m ü.M.) und verbringen die Nacht in einem Berghotel.
 
Montag, 16. Juli
 
Der zweite Tag beginnt (bei schönem Wetter) mit einem unvergesslichen Sonnenaufgang. Nach der Talfahrt mit der Bahn und einer eindrücklichen Busfahrt über den Klausenpass erreichen wir gegen Mittag Näfels. Im Freulerpalast werden Besonderheiten der Kartensammlung der Landesbibliothek Glarus und Karten der Linthkorrektion des 19. Jahrhunderts präsentiert. Danach fahren wir in das Säntisgebiet. Dem Nachtessen mit kleinen folkloristischen Einlagen folgt die Übernachtung in Appenzell.
 
Dienstag, 17. Juli
 
Am dritten Tag besuchen wir das nahe gelegene ehemalige Benediktinerkloster St.Gallen (UNESCO-Weltkulturerbe) mit seiner eindrucksvollen, barocken Stiftsbibliothek und deren kartographischen Kostbarkeiten, wie z.B. dem um 820 entstandenen Klosterplan und der Sonderausstellung «Karten und Atlanten» (Verantwortlich: Ernst Tremp, Karl Schmuki, Theres Flury). Anschliessend Fahrt nach Zürich mit Besuch der Kartensammlung der Zentralbibliothek Zürich und einer Präsentation zum Thema «Alpenüberquerungen im Spiegel von Karten und Plänen» in der ETH-Bibliothek.
 
Es besteht die Möglichkeit, die Gruppe ca. ab 17:00 Uhr bereits in Zürich zu verlassen, von wo der Flughafen Zürich leicht erreicht werden kann. Der Bus fährt die übrigen Teilnehmer zurück nach Bern.
  • Abfahrt Bern: Sonntag, 15. Juli, 8:00 Uhr
  • Ankunft Bern: Dienstag, 17. Juli, 18:00 Uhr
Preis: CHF 640.- (Einzelzimmerzuschlag: CHF 40.-)
 
Inbegriffen:
  • Busfahrten (Rundfahrt mit Start und Ziel in Bern)
  • zwei Übernachtungen mit Frühstück
  • drei Mittag- und zwei Abendessen
  • Eintritte
  • Führungen
  • Reiseleitung
Nicht inbegriffen:
  • Transfer zum Flughafen Zürich
Die Teilnehmerzahl ist beschränkt, frühzeitige Anmeldung wird empfohlen.
 

© Impressum 2008-12-28