EN | DE | FR  ICHC2007

Konrad Türst: De situ confoederatorum descriptio [1495/97] ICHC2007 22nd International Conference on the History of Cartography, Berne, July 8-13, 2007 22. Internationale Konferenz zur Geschichte der Kartographie, Bern, 8.-13. Juli 2007 22e Congrès International de l'Histoire de la Cartographie, Berne, 8-13 juillet 2007 Logo ICHC2007

1   Introduction 
  
2   Contact Information  
  
3   Academic Programme 
  
4   Presentations 
  
5   Registration 
  
6   Meals and Special Events 
  
7   Accompanying Persons 
  
8   General Tourist Information 
  
9   Schedule and Conference Programme 
  
City Map 
  
Organizing Committee 
  
Participating Institutions 
  
PDF Call for Papers
 
Printable version of this page
 
This page will no longer be updated
 
 
6.3  Exhibitions
 
Tuesday, July 10, 2007, 18:30-20:30
 
Burgerbibliothek Bern and Zentralbibliothek der Universitätsbibliothek Bern
Münstergasse 61-63, Bern
 
Cartography over the last 1200 years:
treasures of the Burghers' Library of Berne and the University Library of Berne
 
Burgerbibliothek Bern
 
Thanks to the collector's interests the Huguenot scholar Jacques Bongars (1554-1612) had, the Burgerbibliothek Bern (Burgher's Library of Berne) can show ancient Roman and Carolingian texts on geography (Macrobius, Martianus Capella, Isidore, Bede the Venerable). In the holdings of about 650 medieval manuscripts there are 200 codices dating from before the year 1000. Later medieval codices transmitted Arabian knowledge and techniques (astrolabe from about the year 1000, compass from the 12th/13th century) and translations from antique Greek science to the early universities of Europe, where scholastic philosophy flourished. Acquired during the crusades by Europe, geographic knowledge is also represented by a dozen, mostly French, manuscripts from the 12th to 14th centuries, four of them with miniatures.
 
Responsible: Martin Germann
 
Zentralbibliothek der Universitätsbibliothek Bern
 
The Universitätsbibliothek Bern (University Library of Berne) dates back to 1528. Its central library (the former Stadt- und Universitätsbibliothek Bern) houses one of the largest inventories of historical books of Switzerland as well as valuable maps and plans. A significant part of the maps dating back to the Renaissance are stored here since the collection covers the rebirth of cartography to the digital age. Books and tomes from clerical and monasterical institutions, dissolved by the Reformation, as well as from numerous private collections form the score of the library. Cartography from the 16th to the early 19th century is especially well represented, thanks to the Ryhiner Collection. It was compiled by the Bernese statesman Johann Friedrich von Ryhiner (1732-1803) and was donated to the library of Berne in 1867. It is considered to be one of the most valuable map collections in the world. Further valuable items are shown from the Collection Rossica Europeana, which was built up by Peter Sager (1925-2006) and was donated to the Schweizerische Osteuropabibliothek in 2005.
 
Responsible: Thomas Klöti
 

© Impressum 2008-12-28

EN | DE | FR  ICHC2007

Konrad Türst: De situ confoederatorum descriptio [1495/97] ICHC2007 22nd International Conference on the History of Cartography, Berne, July 8-13, 2007 22. Internationale Konferenz zur Geschichte der Kartographie, Bern, 8.-13. Juli 2007 22e Congrès International de l'Histoire de la Cartographie, Berne, 8-13 juillet 2007 Logo ICHC2007

1   Introduction 
  
2   Contact Information  
  
3   Academic Programme 
  
4   Presentations 
  
5   Registration 
  
6   Meals and Special Events 
  
7   Accompanying Persons 
  
8   General Tourist Information 
  
9   Schedule and Conference Programme 
  
City Map 
  
Organizing Committee 
  
Participating Institutions 
  
PDF Call for Papers
 
Printable version of this page
 
This page will no longer be updated
 
 
6.3  Ausstellungen
 
Dienstag, 10. Juli 2007, 18:30-20:30
 
Burgerbibliothek Bern und Zentralbibliothek der Universitätsbibliothek Bern
Münstergasse 61-63, Bern
 
Kartographie seit 1200 Jahren:
Schätze der Burgerbibliothek Bern und der Universitätsbibliothek Bern
 
Burgerbibliothek Bern
 
Dem Sammelinteresse des hugenottischen Gelehrten Jacques Bongars (1554-1612) entsprechend, kann die Burgerbibliothek Bern die Texte der alt-römischen und der karolingischen Geographie (Macrobius, Martianus Capella, Isidor, Beda Venerabilis) hervorragend dokumentieren. In ihrem Bestand von rund 650 mittelalterlichen Handschriften sind nicht weniger als zweihundert vor dem Jahr 1000 geschriebene Codices. Hoch- und spätmittelalterliche Codices zeigen das langsame Eindringen in Europa der Kenntnisse und Techniken der Araber (Astrolab um das Jahr 1000, Kompass im 12./13. Jahrhundert), sowie auch ihre Überlieferung antiken Wissens, das in den frühen Universitäten fruchtbar gemacht worden ist und die Scholastik befördert hat. Geographische Kenntnisse kamen auch durch die Kreuzzüge nach Europa, in der Burgerbibliothek Bern repräsentiert durch rund ein Dutzend meist französische Handschriften des 12. bis 14. Jahrhunderts, vier davon mit Miniaturen.
 
Verantwortlich: Martin Germann
 
Zentralbibliothek der Universitätsbibliothek Bern
 
Die Universitätsbibliothek Bern geht auf die Reformation im Jahre 1528 zurück. In deren Zentralbibliothek (ehemalige Stadt- und Universitätsbibliothek Bern) lagert einer der grössten historischen Buchbestände der Schweiz, zu dem auch wertvolle Karten und Pläne zählen. Ein bedeutender Teil des Kartenschaffens seit der Renaissance ist hier reich vertreten: Diese reichen von der Wiedergeburt der Kartographie bis ins digitale Zeitalter. Den Grundstock der Bibliothek bilden Bücher aus den im Zuge der Reformation aufgelösten geistlichen und klösterlichen Institutionen sowie zahlreiche bedeutende Privatbibliotheken. Besonders reich vertreten ist die Kartographie des 16. bis frühen 19. Jahrhunderts dank der Sammlung Ryhiner. Diese wurde vom Berner Staatsmann Johann Friedrich von Ryhiner (1732-1803) zusammengestellt und gelangte 1867 als Geschenk an die Berner Bibliothek. Sie gilt heute als eine der wertvollsten Kartensammlungen der Welt. Weitere Werke sind auch aus der Sammlung Rossica Europeana zu sehen, die von Peter Sager (1925-2006) aufgebaut wurde und 2005 an die Schweizerische Osteuropabibliothek gelangte.
 
Verantwortlich: Thomas Klöti
 

© Impressum 2008-12-28